Kindle Vildor and B.J. Smith Highlight Sun Belt All-Conference Football Teams

Kindle Vildor and B.J. Smith Highlight Sun Belt All-Conference Football Teams

Appalachian State

Kindle Vildor and B.J. Smith Highlight Sun Belt All-Conference Football Teams


Kindle Vildor and B.J. Smith Highlight Sun Belt All-Conference Football Teams

Georgia Southern and Troy picked to field the conference’s most awesome players.

Contact @astatefanrules

The Sun Belt dumped all kinds of news on Thursday, following its Preseason Football Coaches’ Poll announcement with the release of its preseason All-Conference selections. Rather than go with the predictable choice of Appalachian State QB Zac Thomas, the powers-that-be selected Troy RB B.J. Smith as the preseason Offensive POY. Smith tallied 13 rushing TDs last season.

The presumably well-read Kindle Vildor was tabbed with Defensive POY honors. Vildor lead a Georgia Southern backfield that created a vortex of doom for opposing quarterbacks.

Overall, Appalachian State and Arkansas State led all teams with 11 total selections apiece on the Preseason All-Sun Belt First and Second Teams.

2019 Sun Belt Conference Preseason Football Teams

Preseason Offensive Player of the Year: B.J. Smith (Troy, Senior)
Preseason Defensive Player of the Year: Kindle Vildor (Georgia Southern, Senior)

* – named to 2018 Preseason Teams
^ – named to 2018 All-Sun Belt First Team
# – named to 2018 All-Sun Belt Second Team
$ – named to 2018 All-Sun Belt Third Team
! – named to 2018 All-Sun Belt Honorable Mention Team

First Team Offense
QB – Zac Thomas (Appalachian State, Junior) #
RB – Darrynton Evans (Appalachian State, Junior) ^
RB – B.J. Smith (Troy, Senior) ^
WR – Corey Sutton (Appalachian State, Junior) #
WR – Kirk Merritt (Arkansas State, Senior) ^
WR – Ja’Marcus Bradley (Louisiana, RS-Senior) $
TE – Javonis Isaac (Arkansas State, RS-Junior) #
OL – Noah Hannon (Appalachian State, Junior) #
OL – Victor Johnson (Appalachian State, Senior) *^
OL – Kevin Dotson (Louisiana, RS-Senior) *^
OL – Robert Hunt (Louisiana, RS-Senior) #
OL – Kirk Kelley (Troy, Senior) ^

First Team Defense
DL – William Bradley-King (Arkansas State, RS-Junior) #
DL – Forrest Merrill (Arkansas State, Junior) #
DL – Raymond Johnson (Georgia Southern, Junior) #
DL – Tyree Turner (South Alabama, Senior) *#
LB – Akeem Davis-Gaither (Appalachian State, Senior) #
LB – Jordan Fehr (Appalachian State, Senior) ^
LB – Bryan London II (Texas State, Senior) *^
DB – Desmond Franklin (Appalachian State, Senior) ^
DB – Jerry Jacobs (Arkansas State, Junior) #
DB – Monquavion Brinson (Georgia Southern, Senior) *#
DB – Kindle Vildor (Georgia Southern, Senior) ^

First Team Special Teams
K – Tyler Bass (Georgia Southern, RS-Senior) *^
P – Brandon Wright (Georgia State, RS-Senior) ^
RS – Tra Minter (South Alabama, Senior) #

Second Team Offense
QB – Caleb Evans (ULM, Senior) *$
RB – Elijah Mitchell (Louisiana, Junior) #
RB – Trey Ragas (Louisiana, RS-Junior) *$
WR – Omar Bayless (Arkansas State, RS-Senior) !
WR – Kawaan Baker (South Alabama, Junior) !
WR – Tray Eafford (Troy, Junior)
TE – Collin Reed (Appalachian State, Senior) *$
OL – Jacob Still (Arkansas State, RS-Junior) *!
OL – Hunter Atkinson (Georgia State, RS-Senior) *$
OL – T.J. Fiailoa (ULM, RS-Junior) $
OL – Aaron Brewer (Texas State, Senior) *!
OL – Tristan Crowder (Troy, Senior) *$

Second Team Defense
DL – Kevin Thurmon (Arkansas State, RS-Senior) !
DL – Tarron Jackson (Coastal Carolina, RS-Junior) $
DL – Zi’Yon Hill (Louisiana, RS-Sophomore) $
DL – Jarvis Hayes (Troy, Senior) $
LB – Jacques Boudreaux (Louisiana, Senior) $
LB – Nikolas Daniels (Texas State, Senior) $
LB – Carlton Martial (Troy, Sophomore)
DB – Josh Thomas (Appalachian State, Senior) !
DB – B.J. Edmonds (Arkansas State, Senior) *
DB – Darreon Jackson (Arkansas State, RS-Senior) $
DB – Michael Jacquet III (Louisiana, RS-Senior)

Second Team Special Teams
K – Tyler Sumpter (Troy, Junior) $
P – Cody Grace (Arkansas State, RS-Senior) *#
RS – Darrynton Evans (Appalachian State, Junior)


A former notary public, Jeremy Harper is a professional writer and Chief Instigator for Storm the Castle Creative. He spends much of his free time staring blankly into space. 

More Sun Belt Heat