2019 College Football Hall of Fame Class Announced

2019 College Football Hall of Fame Class Announced

College Football Features

2019 College Football Hall of Fame Class Announced


The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame announced today the 2019 College Football Hall of Fame Class, which includes the names of 13 First Team All-America players and two standout coaches.

There were some HUGE misses – Eric Dickerson still can’t get in, and Carson Palmer and Eric Crouch should’ve been given a call – but it’s a great overall class. Write-ups from the National Football Foundation.

2019 College Football Hall of Fame Players

Terrell Buckley, DB Florida State (1989-91)

– 1991 unanimous First Team All-American and winner of the Thorpe Award
– Led the nation in interceptions (12) and return yards (501) during final season at FSU
– Seminoles’ all-time leader in career interceptions (21) who returned four interceptions and three punts for touchdowns in career.

Rickey Dixon, DB Oklahoma (1984-87)

– 1987 consensus First Team All-American and winner of the 1987 Thorpe Award
– Two-time First Team All-Big Eight selection and member of 1985 National Championship team
– Finished career as school leader in single-season interceptions (9) and ranked second all-time with 17 career interceptions.

Jacob Green, DL Texas A&M (1977-79)

– 1979 First Team All-American and two-time All-SWC selection
-Set A&M records for career sacks (37) and single-season sacks (20 in 1979)
-Led Aggies to berths in the 1977 Bluebonnet and 1978 Hall of Fame bowls.

Torry Holt, WR North Carolina State (1995-98)

– 1998 consensus First Team All-American who was the only receiver in the top 10 of the 1998 Heisman Trophy voting
– 1998 ACC Player of the Year who earned First Team All-Conference honors as a receiver and punt returner
– NC State’s all-time leader in receiving (3,379) and all-purpose yards (1,979).

Raghib Ismail, KR/WR Notre Dame (1988-90)

– Two-time First Team All-American earning consensus honors in 1989 and unanimous laurels in 1990
– Walter Camp Player of the Year and Heisman Trophy runner-up in 1990
– Led ND to national championship at the Fiesta Bowl and two Orange Bowls

Darren McFadden, RB Arkansas (2005-07)

– Two-time First Team All-American (2006-consensus, 2007-unanimous) and two-time Heisman Trophy runner-up
– 2007 Walter Camp Player of the Year and two-time Doak Walker Award recipient
– Two-time SEC Offensive Player of the Year and the Hogs all-time rushing leader (4,590 yards).

Jake Plummer, QB Arizona State (1993-96)

– 1996 First Team All-American and Pac-10 Player of the Year
– Led 1996 team to an undefeated regular season and first Rose Bowl appearance since 1986
– Four-year starter and two-time ASU MVP who threw for more than 2,000 yards in three consecutive seasons (8,827 career passing yards).

Troy Polamalu, DB Southern California (1999-2002)

– Two-time First Team All-American, earning consensus honors in 2002
– Two-time First Team All-Pac-10 selection and finalist for the Thorpe Award as a senior
– Two-year captain and 2001 USC MVP, who led Trojans to two bowl berths and a share of the 2002 Pac-10 title.

Joe Thomas, OT Wisconsin (2003-06)

– 2006 unanimous First Team All-American and Outland Trophy recipient
– 2005 Second Team All-American and three-time All-Big Ten performer (First Team-2005, 2006)
– 2006 NFF National Scholar-Athlete who led Badgers to four bowl games and three top 20 finishes.

Lorenzo White, RB Michigan State (1984-87)

– Two-time First Team All-American, earning unanimous (’85) and consensus (’87) honors
– Led State to 1987 Big Ten title and Rose Bowl win
– Led nation in rushing (1985), first MSU player to lead team in rushing four-straight seasons.

Patrick Willis, LB Mississippi (2003-06)

– 2006 consensus First Team All-American and recipient of the 2006 Butkus Award, who led the nation in solo tackles (90) as a junior
– 2006 SEC Defensive Player of the Year and two-time First Team All-SEC selection, twice leading the league in tackles
– Finished career ranked sixth all-time at Ole Miss with 355 career tackles.

Vince Young, QB Texas (2003-05)

– 2005 consensus First Team All-American and Heisman Trophy runner-up
– 2005 Maxwell and Davey O’Brien award winner who led Horns to the 2005 national title
– 2005 unanimous Big 12 Player of the Year and the first player in FBS history with 3,000 passing yards and 1,000 rushing yards in a single season (2005).

Pete Fiutak Top Ten Ballot
1. QB Vince Young, Texas
2. QB Carson Palmer, USC
3. RB Eric Dickerson, SMU
4. QB Eric Crouch, Nebraska
5. RB Rashaan Salaam, Colorado
6. RB Darren McFadden, Arkansas
7. WR/KR Raghib Ismail, Notre Dame
8. DE David Pollack, Georgia
9. DT Kenneth Sims, Texas
10. CB Terrell Buckley, Florida State

2019 College Football Hall of Fame Coaches

Dennis Erickson: Idaho (1982-85, 2006), Wyoming (1986), Washington State (1987-88), Miami [Fla.] (1989-94), Oregon State (1999-2002), Arizona State (2007-11)

-Only Miami coach to lead the Canes to two national titles (1989, 1991) and boasts highest win percentage (87.5) in school history
– Led teams to 12 bowl games and at least a share of seven conference titles
– First coach to earn Pac-12 Coach of the Year honors at three different institutions.

Joe Taylor: Howard (1983), Virginia Union (1984-91), Hampton (1992-2007), Florida A&M (2008-12)

– 233-96-4 record (70.6%)


More College Football News