Lott IMPACT Trophy Names 42 on 2018 Watch List

Lott IMPACT Trophy Names 42 on 2018 Watch List


Lott IMPACT Trophy Names 42 on 2018 Watch List


The Lott IMPACT Trophy 2018 Watch List

Contact/Follow @ColFootballNews  

From the Lott IMPACT Foundation …

NEWPORT BEACH, CA. – The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation has announced the 42 candidates for the 15th annual Lott IMPACT Trophy.

The announcement was made at a luncheon in Newport Beach hosted by Ronnie Lott and the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation.

The 42 (Ronnie Lott’s number) nominees represent the finest in college football —  defensive players who have had the biggest IMPACT on their teams both on and off the field.  IMPACT stands for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

There are 21 linebackers, 11 defensive backs and 10 defensive linemen on the initial Watch List.  Nine different conferences (and two independents) are represented with the Pac-12 leading the way with 11 student-athletes nominated.  Half of the candidates, 21, have received some form of academic recognition during their college careers to date.

Candidates will be evaluated during the season with a Player of the Week chosen each week (and his school receiving $1,000 for its general scholarship fund).  The four finalists will attend the 15th annual Lott IMPACT Trophy Banquet Dec. 9 in Newport Beach (with his school receiving $25,000 for its general scholarship fund).

Eight players are on the Watch List for the second consecutive season: Koron Crump (Arizona State), Porter Gustin (USC), Chase Hansen (Utah), Ed Oliver (Houston), Ty Summers (TCU), Drue Tranquill (Notre Dame), Christian Wilkins (Clemson) and Cameron Smith (USC), who was a semi-finalist last year.

2018 Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List
Josh Allen, LB, Kentucky
Zack Allen, DL, Boston College
Deandre Baker, DB, Georgia
Nick Bosa, DE, Ohio State
Ben Burr-Kirven, LB, Washington
Te’von Coney, LB, Notre Dame
Koron Crump, DE/LB, Arizona State
DeShaun Davis, LB, Auburn
Joe Dineen Jr., LB, Kansas
Troy Dye, LB, Oregon
T.J. Edwards, LB, Wisconsin
Jordan Fuller, S, Ohio State
Denzel Goolsby, S, Kansas State
Porter Gustin, LB, USC
Nate Hall, LB, Northwestern
Chase Hansen, S, Utah
Khaleke Hudson, DB, Michigan
Ben Humphries, LB, Duke
Chauncy Gardner-Johnson, DB, Florida
Pat Jasinski, LB, Central Florida
Joe Jackson, DL, Miami
Anfernee Jennings, LB, Alabama
Caleb Kelly, LB, Oklahoma
Jordan Kunaszyk, LB, Cal
Dexter Lawrence, DE, Clemson
David Leisring, S, Dayton
Kekoa Nawahine, S, Boise State
Anthony Nelson, DL, Iowa
Bobby Okereke, LB, Stanford
Ed Oliver, DL, Houston
Adarius Pickett, DB, UCLA
Taylor Rapp, S, Washington
Colin Schooler, LB, Arizona
Jeffery Simmons, DL, Mississippi State
Cameron Smith, LB, USC
Sutton Smith, DE, Northern Illinois
Ty Summers, LB, TCU
Drue Tranquill, LB, Notre Dame
Devin White, LB, LSU
Christian Wilkins, DL, Clemson
Sean Williams, S, Navy
Dedrick Young, LB, Nebraska

Previous Winners of the Lott IMPACT Trophy:
2004 – David Pollack, Georgia
2005 – DeMeco Ryans, Alabama
2006 – Dante Hughes, Cal
2007 – Glenn Dorsey, LSU
2008 – James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
2009 – Jerry Hughes, TCU
2010 – J.J. Watt, Wisconsin
2011 – Luke Kuechly, Boston College
2012 – Manti Te’o, Notre Dame
2013 – Anthony Barr, UCLA
2014 – Eric Kendricks, UCLA
2015 – Carl Nassib, Penn State
2016 – Jabrill Peppers, Michigan
2017 – Josey Jewell, Iowa

More College Football News