CFP Selection Committee: Ronnie Lott & The New Members

CFP Selection Committee: Ronnie Lott & The New Members

Bowls College Football Playoff

CFP Selection Committee: Ronnie Lott & The New Members


The College Football Playoff Selection Committee

Contact/Follow @ColFootballNews & @PeteFiutak

Rob Mullens taking over as the committee chair.

The College Football Playoff committee is undergoing a few changes with six new members and a new chairman.

Texas Tech athletic director completes his time as the chair on February 1st. and now Oregon AD Rob Mullens will take over

“College football plays a vital role in intercollegiate athletics, and it is an honor to continue to serve on the CFP Selection Committee,” said Mullens. “I look forward to partnering with the other committee members and the staff to build on the strong foundation which has been created in the first four years of the CFP.”

Along with the change up top, Paola Boivin, Joe Castiglione, Ken Hatfield, Ronnie Lott, Todd Stansbury and Scott Stricklin were added to the selection committee by the Committee, beginning a three-year term this spring.

From the College Football Playoff press release … 
An award-winning sports columnist, Paola Boivin worked for The Arizona Republic for more than 20 years prior to taking a job in the sports journalism program at Arizona State University’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication. Before joining the Republic in 1994, she was a columnist for the Los Angeles Daily News. Boivin is a graduate of the University of Illinois.

Boivin won numerous awards from the Associated Press Sports Editors and National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association. She also served as president of the Association for Women in Sports Media (AWSM). In November 2017, Boivin was the first female journalist to be named to the Arizona Sports Hall of Fame.

Joe Castiglione is the University of Oklahoma’s Vice President for Intercollegiate Athletics Programs and Director of Athletics. Since his appointment in 1998, Oklahoma athletics has captured 17 national championships and 79 conference titles, while setting records for GPA and graduation rate. A graduate of the University of Maryland, Castiglione spent 17 years at the University of Missouri, serving five of those years as the director of athletics (1993-98).

Castiglione has served three terms as the chair of the Big 12 Board of Athletics Directors. He was awarded the Bobby Dodd Award for Athletics Director of the Year in 2004 and was named National Athletics Director of the Year by the Sports Business Journal in 2009. He was also voted by both his peers and the media as the nation’s top athletics director in a Sports Illustrated poll conducted in 2017. He is a former chair of the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Committee.

Prior to his retirement in 2005, former head coach Ken Hatfield guided three different Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) programs to Top 20 seasons. Throughout his career, Hatfield won four conference championships and led his teams to ten bowl games, posting a career record of 168-140-4.  Hatfield is retired.

Awarded the American Football Coaches Association’s (AFCA) Amos Alonzo Stagg Award in 2015, Hatfield was most recently the head coach at Rice University (1994-2005). Prior to his tenure at Rice, he was the head coach at the U.S. Air Force Academy (1979-83), the University of Arkansas (1984-89) and Clemson University (1990-93). A graduate of Arkansas, he was an All-Southwest Conference defensive back on the 1964 national championship team.

A consensus All-American at the University of Southern California, Ronnie Lott played professional football for 14 seasons before retiring in 1995. He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2000. An eight-time first-team All-Pro selection and 10-time Pro-Bowl defensive back, Lott played on four Super Bowl-winning teams. He is now a businessman in the San Francisco Bay area.

During his time at Southern California, Lott helped the Trojans claim a national title in 1978, followed by appearances in back-to-back Rose Bowl Games. Named to the College Football Hall of Fame in 2002, Lott graduated from Southern California in 1981 – the same year he was selected in the first round of the NFL draft.

Todd Stansbury was named director of athletics at the Georgia Institute of Technology in September 2016. A football student-athlete at Georgia Tech from 1980 to 1984, Stansbury served as the program’s assistant athletic director for academics from 1988 to 1995.

Prior to his return to Georgia Tech, Stansbury served as the athletics director for two FBS programs – Oregon State University (2015-16) and the University of Central Florida (2012-15). From 2003 to 2012, Stansbury was the executive associate athletic director at Oregon State.

Scott Stricklin is the director of athletics at the University of Florida. He previously served six years in the same role at his alma mater, Mississippi State University. During his time at Mississippi State, Stricklin oversaw record fundraising and helped the department achieve its highest-ever Learfield Director’s Cup finish. He was named Under Armour’s Athletics Director of the Year in 2016.

In addition to Florida and Mississippi State, Stricklin has worked in athletics departments at four other FBS institutions – the University of Kentucky (2003-08), Baylor University (1999-2003), Tulane University (1998) and Auburn University (1993-98).

More College Football News