2018 College Football Hall of Fame Class Announced

2018 College Football Hall of Fame Class Announced


2018 College Football Hall of Fame Class Announced


It might not have been the epic class of last year, but the 2018 Hall of Fame class is still special with a few all-time great names. 

There are some huge eligible names missing – Dickerson, Ismail, Polamalu – but there are also a slew of all-timer college football stars in the 2018 Hall of Fame class.

2018 College Football Hall of Fame Players

Trevor Cobb, RB Rice (1989-1992)

– 1991 consensus First Team All-American and Doak Walker Award winner
– 1992 Southwest Conference Offensive Player of the Year who finished career as the Owls’ all-time leading rusher (4,948 yards)
– Rushed for 1,000 yards in three consecutive seasons and set 17 school records.

Kerry Collins, QB Penn State (1991-1994)

– 1994 consensus First Team All-American and winner of the Maxwell and Davey O’Brien awards
– Led the nation in passing efficiency (172.9) as a senior and named 1994 Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year
– Led Lions to 12-0 record, a Big Ten title and No. 2 final ranking in 1994.

Dana Howard, LB Illinois (1991-1994)

– Two-time First Team All-American, earning unanimous honors as a senior
– 1994 Butkus Award winner and two-time Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year
– School’s all-time leading tackler (595) who led team in tackles each year of career.

Calvin Johnson, WR Georgia Tech (2004-2006)

-Two-time First Team All-American (unanimous in 2006) and winner of the 2006 Biletnikoff Award
-Three-time First Team All-ACC pick, earning 2006 ACC Player of the Year and 2004 ACC Rookie of the Year honors
-Still holds six Tech records, including career touchdown receptions (28) and career receiving yards (2,927).

Paul Palmer, RB Temple (1983-1986)

– 1986 unanimous First Team All-American
– Led the nation in rushing yards (1,866), rushing yards per game (169.6) and All-purpose yards (2,633) in 1986
– Set 23 school records and was named ECAC Player of the Year in 1986.

Ed Reed, DB, Miami (1998-2001)

– Two-time First Team All-American (consensus-’00, unanimous-’01) who led Miami to four bowl wins, including the national championship at the 2002 Rose Bowl
– 2001 Big East Defensive Player of the Year, leading Canes to consecutive Big East titles
– Miami’s all-time leader in career INTs (21) and career INT return yards (389).

Matt Stinchcomb, OT Georgia (1995-1998)

– Two-time First Team All-America selection (consensus, ’98)
– Two-time First Team All-SEC and 1998 recipient of Jacobs Blocking Trophy
– 1998 NFF William V. Campbell Trophy recipient and NFF National Scholar, Athlete.

Aaron Taylor, C/G, Nebraska (1994-1997)

– Two-time First Team All-American (consensus-’96, unanimous-’97) and 1997 Outland Trophy winner.
– Led Huskers to three national titles and three consecutive league titles.
– Led Nebraska to three undefeated seasons and is only Husker player in history to earn All-America honors at two positions.

Charles Woodson, DB, Michigan (1995-1997)

– Two-time First Team All-American
– 1997 Heisman Trophy winner
– Recipient of the 1997 Walter Camp, Bronco Nagurski, Chuck Bednarik and Jim Thorpe awards
– Two-time Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year who led Wolverines to national and conference titles in 1997.

Pete Fiutak Top Ten Ballot
DB Charles Woodson, Michigan
RB Eric Dickerson, SMU
QB Eric Crouch, Nebraska
WR/KR Raghib Ismail, Notre Dame
S Ed Reed, Miami
DT Warren Sapp, Miami
OG/C Aaron Taylor, Nebraska
CB Terrell Buckley, Florida State
QB Michael Bishop, Kansas State
RB Keith Byars, RB  Ohio State

2018 College Football Hall of Fame Coaches

Frank Beamer, Murray State (1981-86), Virginia Tech (1987-2015)

– Winningest active coach in FBS history at the time of his retirement

– Registered 23 consecutive bowl appearances in his final 23 seasons, including a trip to the 1999 National Championship game

– Guided teams to eight conference titles (one at Murray State) and posted 13 seasons with 10 or more wins.

Mack Brown-Appalachian State (1983), Tulane (1985-87), North Carolina (1988-97), Texas (1998-2013)

-Led teams to 20 consecutive winning seasons (1990-2009) and had most overall wins (225) nationally from 1990-2013

– Guided Tar Heels to a 21-3 record during last two seasons at UNC

– Led Texas to the 2005 National Championship, two Big 12 titles and to 162 consecutive weeks ranked in the AP poll (2000-10).


More College Football News